Land for a Petrol Station: Permits and Plot Size
Updated 3 November 2026 · Land & Property editorial team
The minimum site for a petrol station in Uganda is 100 ft by 100 ft, about 929 square metres or 23 decimals, according to the standard set by the Ministry of Energy and the Uganda National Bureau of Standards, as reported in 2024. A station must not be on a road reserve, and Kampala requires a council permit. Spacing rules are contested, so check the current position before buying land.
- Minimum station area
- 100 ft by 100 ft, about 929 sqm or 23 decimals (source 3)
- Registered retail stations, end of 2023
- 4,786 in the Ministry of Energy database (source 3)
- Station in a road reserve
- Not allowed (source 3)
- Kampala permit duration
- Annual, renewable for a year at a time (para. 7, source 4)
How big should land for a petrol station be?
Plus News Uganda reported on 5 February 2024 that the standard set by the Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development and the Uganda National Bureau of Standards (UNBS) requires a minimum area of 100 ft by 100 ft, and that some stations operate on less (source 3). That is 10,000 square feet, about 929 square metres, or roughly 23 decimals, since 100 decimals make one acre. We could not open the UNBS standard itself, so ask UNBS or the Ministry for the current text, which may set other dimensions for canopies, tanks and driveways.
For scale, some plots we listed on 3 November 2026 were 25 decimals, such as in Ntinda and Kyanja (Land & Property listings, Nov 2026). A 25-decimal plot is about 1,012 square metres, only a little above the minimum, so a corner position or a well-shaped plot matters more than the bare size. Those plots are marketed as residential and we have not verified that any is suitable for a station.
How far apart must stations be, and is the rule enforced?
The 2024 article says the standard sets a distance between two stations but does not state the figure (source 3). In April 2021 the Daily Monitor reported that the National Physical Planning Board said stations are supposed to be three kilometres apart, while some stand 100 metres or less from each other. It also reported that the board planned to demolish stations built after a December 2020 directive, and that an April 2021 letter from the Ministry of Local Government told local officials to halt approval of new stations (source 5). We do not know whether that halt is still in force in November 2026. Before you buy, ask the local physical planning committee and the Ministry in writing what spacing applies to your plot and whether new approvals are open.
What road frontage and road reserve rules apply?
The 2024 article says stations must not be built in road reserves or on shop verandas, and must have a canopy (source 3). KCCA advises every developer to survey the plot first to confirm it is inside the boundary and off the road reserve (source 1). We could not verify a numeric minimum frontage, so ask for the layout of entry and exit points. The Kampala ordinance requires plans showing how vehicles enter and leave the station in relation to nearby roads (source 4). A seller who says a roadside strip is "free" to build on may be describing a reserve. Our guide How to Protect Your Land From Grabbers explains how to check boundaries and title.
What permits does a fuel station need?
Several layers apply, and some we could only partly verify.
| Step | What we found |
|---|---|
| Planning and building | Development permission (Physical Planning Act, 2010, section 33) and a building permit (Building Control Act, 2013, section 34), then an occupation permit (section 44) (sources 2 and 6) |
| Kampala council permit | Under the 2006 ordinance, an application with ground plan, elevations, siting of pumps and tanks, entry and exit layout and a block plan of the plot and neighbouring plots. The permit is annual and renewable (source 4) |
| Grounds for refusal | The council may refuse if the station impairs neighbourhood amenities, endangers the environment, greatly increases fire risk to buildings, lacks approved plans, or breaks other laws (source 4) |
| Petroleum licensing | Stations must be registered with the Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development, whose database held 4,786 retail stations at the end of 2023 (source 3). We could not verify the current licence steps, so ask the Ministry |
| Environmental approval | NEMA assessment: we could not open NEMA's guidance, so ask NEMA whether an impact assessment is needed for your site. The ordinance itself allows refusal on environmental grounds |
The ordinance is a 2006 Kampala City Council text and KCCA has since replaced the council, so confirm that it is still applied in the same form. Your advocate and the Ministry can confirm the current steps.
What title and site checks come first?
- Search the title for owner, tenure, mortgages and caveats. Fuel stations are long-term investments, so mailo land needs the occupant's and landlord's rights checked, and leasehold needs a long term remaining.
- Survey the plot and the road reserve.
- Get zoning in writing. A change from residential to commercial use is development needing permission.
- Test the neighbours. Fire risk and nuisance to nearby buildings are grounds for refusal in Kampala.
- Check licensed and unlicensed competition. In 2020 the Ministry counted 1,030 licensed retail outlets and estimated over 2,000 unlicensed ones (source 5).
Compare other use-specific sites in Land for a School, Land for an Apartment Block and Land for a Clinic or Hospital. General checks are in Commercial Land Near Kampala for Development, and the hub is Warehouse Kampala. You can browse commercial listings or ask our team on WhatsApp or by email.
Frequently asked questions
How big should land for a petrol station be?
The standard set by the Ministry of Energy and UNBS requires at least 100 ft by 100 ft, about 929 square metres or 23 decimals, as reported in 2024. Confirm the current standard with UNBS, since canopy, tank and driveway needs may call for more.
What permits does a fuel station need?
Development permission, a building permit and an occupation permit under the planning and building laws, registration and licensing with the Ministry of Energy, and in Kampala an annual council permit. Ask NEMA whether environmental assessment applies to your site.
Can I build a petrol station on a road reserve?
No. The 2024 report on the national standard says stations must not be built in road reserves or on shop verandas. KCCA also tells developers to survey the plot to confirm it is off the road reserve before they build.
How far apart must petrol stations be?
The standard sets a distance, but the 2024 report does not state it. In 2021 the National Physical Planning Board said three kilometres, while many stations stand 100 metres apart. Ask the planning committee and the Ministry what applies to your plot today.
Sources
- Development Control Frequently Asked Questions, Kampala Capital City Authority (accessed 2026-11)
- Physical Planning Act, 2010, Kampala Capital City Authority (hosted copy) (accessed 2026-11)
- Report on the national fuel station standards and compliance (5 February 2024), Plus News Uganda (accessed 2026-11)
- Local Governments (Kampala City Council) (Petroleum Filling Stations) Ordinance, 2006, Kampala Capital City Authority (hosted copy) (accessed 2026-11)
- Govt to demolish fuel stations built after December 2020, Daily Monitor (April 2021) (accessed 2026-11)
- Building Control Act, 2013 (Chapter 136), ULII / Laws.Africa (accessed 2026-11)
- Land & Property listings, Nov 2026 (93 published listings, none in the commercial category), Land & Property (accessed 2026-11)