Search listings

Diaspora Mortgages in Uganda: Banks and Requirements

Updated 3 November 2026 · Land & Property editorial team

Yes, a Ugandan living abroad can apply for a Uganda mortgage, but only a few lenders publish diaspora terms. Housing Finance Bank lends up to 70% of the property value and caps repayments at 35% of gross income. Absa Uganda lists diaspora home loans in UGX and USD. Expect notarised forms, income proof and a titled property. All details are as shown in November 2026.

Housing Finance Bank loan cap
70% of property value; repayments up to 35% of gross monthly income
Absa diaspora home loan
Up to UGX 2 billion or USD 500,000, up to 20 years
Absa diaspora land loan
Up to UGX 500 million, up to 10 years
Security the bank accepts (HFB)
Titled property only

Can I get a mortgage in Uganda while living abroad?

Yes, in principle. Housing Finance Bank (HFB) publishes a diaspora FAQ that defines a diaspora customer as a Ugandan citizen who lives or works in another country. Absa Uganda has a dedicated diaspora lending page. A third route exists for United Nations staff and retirees through a credit union. Each lender sets its own rules, and the public pages do not give full terms, so you should get a written offer before you commit money to a seller.

This page is a guide, not financial advice. Bank terms change, and each bank page we read was undated, so we show what each page said when we checked in November 2026. If you are still deciding between a mortgage and paying cash, read our general guide on how to get a mortgage in Uganda first, then come back here for the diaspora points.

What do Housing Finance Bank and Absa offer diaspora borrowers?

The table sets out what each lender states on its own page. Where a page is silent, we say so rather than guess.

ItemHousing Finance Bank (diaspora FAQ)Absa Uganda (diaspora lending page)
Who counts as diasporaA Ugandan citizen who lives or works abroadNot defined on the page
PurposeBuy or build a home, or refinance an existing loanBuild or buy a home, release cash against an existing bond, or buy rental property
Maximum loan70% of the property value; 100% financing for first-time owners or customers earning below UGX 15 million or equivalentHome loan up to UGX 2 billion or USD 500,000; land loan up to UGX 500 million
TenorUp to 20 years for home loans; 10 years for commercial mortgagesUp to 20 years for home loans; up to 10 years for land loans
CurrencyNot stated in the FAQUGX and USD for home loans; not stated for land loans
Income ruleTotal monthly deductions up to 35% of gross monthly salary, including other loansNot stated on the page
Rates and feesApplication, valuation, survey and CRB fees at application; stamp duty, security perfection and arrangement fees after approval. See the bank tariff guideNot stated on the page

Absa also lists a cash-secured diaspora loan, backed by fixed deposits, treasury bills or government bonds, up to UGX 2 billion over up to 25 years. That is a loan against savings, not a mortgage.

What proof of income will a bank ask for?

HFB lists the documents it needs to start a mortgage. For a salaried borrower abroad, the ones that matter most are:

  • a copy of your current employment contract and your last two payslips;
  • personal bank statements for the last 12 months;
  • a valid identification document and passport photos;
  • a Tax Identification Number (TIN) and a Credit Reference Bureau (CRB) report or card;
  • an operational account with the bank;
  • for a purchase, the sale agreement or letter of offer, a copy of the land title and photographs of the property;
  • for a build, an approved building plan and a bill of quantities for the work still to be done.

HFB says it considers all incomes you provide, so a spouse's salary, business income or rental income can count if your own salary is not enough. It also says you should notarise only documents that carry your signature. Payslips, bank statements and an employer letter do not need notarising. If you are married, the bank asks for spousal consent and a marriage certificate.

Which property will a bank accept as security?

HFB says it accepts titled property only, and that the land should not have squatters, graveyards, family land or communal land. That rule rules out many cheap plots sold on customary or unclear tenure. Before you pay a deposit, ask the seller for the title and check it. Our guide to diaspora land scams explains the checks that protect you, and you can browse plot listings on Land & Property to see which come with a title.

As of November 2026, the 21 plots in our own listings snapshot have a median asking price of UGX 155 million (Land & Property listings, Nov 2026). Asking prices are not sale prices, and a bank will value the property itself, so the valuation can come in below the price you agreed.

How does currency risk affect a diaspora mortgage?

The bank sets the currency of the loan, and your income is in another currency. That gap is the risk. If you borrow in shillings and earn in pounds, dollars or dirhams, a weaker shilling makes each repayment cheaper in your income currency, and a stronger shilling makes it dearer. If you borrow in dollars and earn in shillings, the effect runs the other way. Absa offers both UGX and USD home loans, so you can choose which risk you prefer.

Ask each bank four questions in writing: which currency is the loan in, is the rate fixed or variable and for how long, what happens to the rate when the period ends, and can you repay early without a penalty. HFB says early part-payments are allowed, with a minimum payment of 10% of the outstanding principal. Do not rely on a forecast of the exchange rate. Nobody can give you one you can trust.

Is there a route for United Nations staff and retirees?

Yes, but only for that group. The United Nations Federal Credit Union (UNFCU) offers Uganda mortgages to eligible members who are UN employees or retirees, are not US residents and intend to live in the property. Investment property is not eligible. It lends only for property in Kampala, Wakiso or Mukono, and it quotes loans in US dollars.

When we checked in November 2026, UNFCU showed variable rates as low as 5.90% to 6.40% and fixed rates as low as 7.99% to 8.49%, with loans from USD 50,000 up to USD 1,000,000 (up to USD 500,000 for UN staff paid in Ugandan shillings), a 15-year term, usually a 20% to 30% down payment (25% from your own funds if you are paid in shillings) and a 1% processing fee. It says rates are not guaranteed and depend on credit quality and debt-to-income ratio. If you do not work for the UN, this does not apply to you.

What should I do before applying from abroad?

Work through these steps in order, because each one saves time with the bank.

  1. Read your own limit. If the bank caps repayments at 35% of gross income, work out what monthly figure that gives you after your other debts.
  2. Ask the bank for its current diaspora checklist and tariff guide in writing, and note the date you received them.
  3. Pick a titled property and have an advocate check the title before you commit.
  4. Plan your deposit. At 70% lending, you fund at least 30% yourself, plus legal fees and stamp duty. Our cost of buying land in Uganda from abroad calculator helps you total these.
  5. Think about what comes after the purchase. If you plan to build, read Building a House in Uganda While Living Abroad, and if you will rent the property out, read Managing Uganda Property From Abroad.

If you want to see a plot before you ask a bank to value it, you can book an escorted site visit through us, and our overview Invest in Uganda from abroad shows how the whole buying process fits together.

Frequently asked questions

Can I get a Uganda mortgage while abroad?

Yes, some lenders serve diaspora customers. Housing Finance Bank defines diaspora as a Ugandan citizen who lives or works abroad, and Absa Uganda lists diaspora home loans. You will still need income proof, a titled property and notarised signatures. Terms change, so ask for a written offer before you pay a seller anything.

Which banks offer diaspora mortgages?

Housing Finance Bank and Absa Uganda both publish diaspora information. UNFCU lends to eligible United Nations staff and retirees for homes in Kampala, Wakiso or Mukono. Other banks may also lend to non-resident Ugandans, so ask each lender for its current diaspora terms. This page covers only what we could read in November 2026.

How much deposit do I need?

It depends on the lender. Housing Finance Bank says it lends 70% of the property value, so you fund the rest. It says it offers 100% financing to first-time owners and to customers earning below UGX 15 million or equivalent. UNFCU asks for 20% to 30% down. Confirm the figure in your own offer letter.

Can a bank lend against customary or family land?

Housing Finance Bank says it accepts properties with land titles only, and not land with squatters, graveyards, family land or communal land. If you are buying customary or family land, expect a bank to refuse it as security until a proper title is issued and the family land rules are met.

Is a USD mortgage safer than a UGX mortgage?

Neither is safer in general. It depends on the currency you earn. If you earn in dollars, a dollar loan removes the exchange-rate gap. If you earn in shillings, a dollar loan adds risk. This is not financial advice, so compare written offers and ask an independent adviser if unsure.

Sources

  1. Diaspora FAQs, Housing Finance Bank Uganda (accessed 2026-11)
  2. Diaspora lending, Absa Bank Uganda (accessed 2026-11)
  3. Uganda mortgages, UNFCU (accessed 2026-11)
  4. Required documents for a Uganda mortgage, UNFCU (accessed 2026-11)
  5. Land & Property listings snapshot, Nov 2026, Land & Property (accessed 2026-11)

Related guides